C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

'67 427 435 tripower idle problem

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2017, 04:33 PM
67 vette vert
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '67 427 435 tripower idle problem

Hi, guys,

I'm new to the thread. I just finished a one year partial resto on a '67 427 435 roadster that I bought from the original owner. His name is on the protecto plate, car has the build sheet etc.

This original owner took the tripower off in '69 because he couldn't get it to run right. But all of the carbs, manifold, air cleaner, etc. came with the car. As did the California-only for '67 smog equipment.

So we built the engine back totally stock, stock bore, cam, heads, etc, had the transistorized distributor redone with a new upgraded electronic board, and dynoed the engine. On the 6th pull, it made 453 BHP and 460 lbs-ft of torque.

So here's the deal: on the dyno, the engine would idle down to 800-900 rpm, no problem. Now that it's on the car, it won't idle lower than 1700 rpm. All that we added to the engine after the dyno is the smog equipment.

So I googled tripower problems, and some answers led me to really great info on this site, such as connecting to manifold vacuum instead of ported vacuum. When I start the engine, I can flip a#2 pencil upside down and use the eraser end to press on the front carb butterflies and no change in rpm. When I do the same thing to the rear carb, the idle immediately starts coming down to normal-depending on the idle adjustment screw on the center carb.

So obviously, something is messed up with the linkage/vacuum pots, etc. These carbs were rebuilt by Holley. The car drives really great and is super responsive.

The rear carb butterflies seem to me to be cracked open. How do I adjust and/or fix?

Much thanks,

Jack in Memphis, TN
Old 02-16-2017, 04:41 PM
Avispa
Safety Car

Received 885 Likes on 634 Posts