Restore vs. buy restored - new buyer

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2007, 11:04 AM
mhorton01
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Restore vs. buy restored - new buyer

Gentelmen (and Ladies?) -

In 2008 I will turn 42, become a young Grandpa, and finally buy my first Corvette! As most of you can probably relate, this has been a dream of mine as long as I can remember. I have bought and sold tons of cars in my life, and I'm a decent shade-tree mechanic and body worker, smart enough to know what to farm out and what to do in my modest garage.

The 'vette I have always wanted was a C3. I recently drove a C5 for a day, and nearly changed my mind, but that was just lust, not love. I want and need a C3.

I have a comment / question...

I have seen several vettes for 6000 - 10,000 on line which would need a lot of restoration. That's fine, I have no problem with that. I'd probably drive it for a month or so in the Spring to get it out of my system, then start tearing it down and restoring it.

I also see the same models from 18,000 - to as much as 30,000 which seem to be ready to rock and roll. That would be fine too, except for the personal pride factor of doing it myself.

To those that have bought the less expesive models, then restored them... would you do it again? What were the most expensive issues and problems? If I spent 10k on the car, should I expect another 10k in resoration, or more? I will want to have the engine completly and professionally rebuilt... but that's another discussion and I'm sure it's covered elsewhere.

If this stuff is covered in other threads apologize, I didn't find it.

Thanks!
Old 12-22-2007, 11:11 AM
mstanton
Drifting

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Unless you want to do the work or can't afford the restored cars and want to restore it over time, you are probably financially better off buying one that the work is already done. Restorations can get very expensive and you often won't know how expensive until you get started.