Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Alright, take me to school

Old 11-08-2008, 08:54 PM
chunnydave
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Alright, take me to school

I am in my last year of college and feel it's time for a C3. I've owned a 5th gen for a few years (GREAT car) and am somewhat familiar with these cars, but am trying to learn as much as possible before taking the plunge. I have been reading a lot, and am now starting to look at local cars.
I saw my first today, a real project, and would like feedback on the things I saw.

Lot of scratches to the body, and the front/rear clips look to be unpainted. There is also some damage to the rear quarter where a plow knicked it.

Interior has been completely removed, and covered with a heat shield. Owner has purchases new seats, carpet, and weather stripping.

Documented as much of the rust-prone areas as possible.

This was behind the gauges.

This is near the passenger door, down low.

Stuck the camera under the nose, and didn't see this until I got home. WTF

So aside from 'turn and run', does anyone have any specific input (so I know what to look for on the next one)?
Old 11-08-2008, 10:41 PM
Durango_Boy
Team Owner

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

I hope it's cheap because you'll spend a lot of time and money bringing that car back and finishing everything the owner started.

Might be worth a bit more money to find something that's closer to the goals you have for a car like that...depending on what they are.
Old 11-09-2008, 07:14 AM
FB007
Burning Brakes

run forrest run.
Old 11-09-2008, 07:22 AM
C3 4ME
Le Mans Master

Received 429 Likes on 307 Posts

I think you're doing exactly right, as I read this it sounds like your not interested in this car at all, just looking to get some feedback on what's good and bad about this car. I defer to the real experts here on the real issues with this car, but I find it strange that a rough looking interior has seats that look brand new.
Old 11-09-2008, 08:02 AM
...Roger...