Sponsored by:

Aftermarket Radio Install Help 1970

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2009, 09:21 PM
red70stingray
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Aftermarket Radio Install Help 1970

I am installing a secret audio stereo 2 and hiding it in my glove box. 1970. This post will confirm i'm no expert!!!. The directions say to wire the red to a constant "on" wire regardless of the key possition, not to lose any presets... can't i just run a positive and negative from the battery and use the remote to turn it on or off? I assume the later will also not lose my presets. Can it be hooked up so it will turn off with the key without losing presets, if so, what wires should i look for??? If it helps, i have an original radio that plays fine, can i piggy back off any of those wires???
Thank You!!!
Old 02-16-2009, 10:23 PM
spedaleden
Safety Car

Received 56 Likes on 29 Posts

Your new radio has 12volts with key, 12 volt hot all the time and gorund

Your car radio harness has black for ground, Gray is dash lights (Do not use) and Yellow which is 12 volts with key. There is no hot all the time back in 70.

Get a hot all the time at the fuse box GM used Orange as hot all the time or you might see on the fuse box (Bat) which is battery. Take a test light and check it. Or go to Cigarette lighter which should be orange, center terminal.

This way radio will shut off when you take the key out and presets will stay for memory. You can piggy back off the power & ground wires. Solder and tape.

There is no reason to run wires all the way back to the battery

Hope this helps
Old 02-17-2009, 01:15 AM
RunningMan373
Melting Slicks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Nix

Run a 16 gauge wire from you needed hot location to the Fuse panel, crimp a red fermale lug on the end, and plug it into the batt terminal. C.
Old 02-17-2009, 08:49 AM
Droptop-Rob
Instructor