Sponsored by:

1982?

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2010, 05:31 PM
trev4172
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1982?

Sorry, if this is a dumb question, but i am new to this and am looking to buy a 1980-1982, but a lot of things i've read in various places seem to warn me off the 1982's as the cross fire injection is not reliable. Any thoughts on this and are there any pro's to the 82's? Any pros or cons on the 1980 or 81 models?
Old 07-08-2010, 05:38 PM
MCMLXXX
Racer

St. Jude Donor '14

I will try to help you out with any question you have with a 80, as I have one.
as for the cross fire, I think a lot of people gave that engine a raw deal, most folks here that have one have not had that many issue's with them.

The 81 was the first corvette with a on board computer.

I guess that's why I went with the 80, kind of old school, carb and no computer.

Mike.
Old 07-08-2010, 10:36 PM
terry82
Le Mans Master

Received 158 Likes on 144 Posts

we see this about the 1982 vette every couple of weeks .it is a throttle body .gm made throttle bodys for a long time because they were verry good .they got good gas mpg and were dependble .they were not the best for hot roding.the 82 was the best of every thing up to 1982 .http://www.crossfire.homeip.net/index.php?act=idxthey can help if you have a problem.
Old 07-08-2010, 10:55 PM
larryg3
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 53 Likes on 36 Posts

I have an 81 and I love it. very easy to remove the computer and hot rod old school.
as for the 82 you have many advantages. If you plan on staying with the cross fire or want to do change to fuel injection as in the Multi port fuel injection, the fuel lines are already there and the fuel pump is already in the gas tank. Also the 82 was the first year of the 700R trans with overdrive.
It all depends what you want to do keep as is, go old school carb and no computer or fuel injection with computer etc.
Old 07-09-2010, 01:30 AM
tailskid
Advanced