Sponsored by:

Jack points for the C3

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2010, 03:04 PM
janmn
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Jack points for the C3

I realize this is a trivial question, but I am a newbie, and at least I hope it's easy to answer.

I want to lift my 1976 Corvette with a garage jack and place it on stand jacks. I suppose the stand jacks should be placed around the door frame, but where do i lift the car with the garage jack so I don't wreck anything?
Old 09-29-2010, 03:28 PM
Easy Mike
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,469 Likes on 1,248 Posts
Cruise-In II Veteran

Put your floor jack against the frame at any of the stock jacking points. Jacking instructions are shown on the door of the jack storage compartment and in the owner's manual.

The intent is to jack the frame, not the fiberglass. Sounds like a no brainer, but I can recall a post a few years back from a fellow who put his jack under the floor with the predictable consequences.

Be safe.

Old 09-29-2010, 03:32 PM
janmn
Intermediate

Thanks for your reply Mike.
I am still a bit puzzled about how to lift the car up there using the garage jack. My first guess was lifting at the cross member and the rear differential, but do I risk breaking something and are there better places to lift?
Old 09-29-2010, 03:46 PM
Easy Mike
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,469 Likes on 1,248 Posts
Cruise-In II Veteran

Under the differential is safe. Under the front crossmember is not recommended. The crossmembers can literally dent.

Last edited by Easy Mike; 09-30-2010 at 10:14 AM.
Old 09-29-2010, 03:49 PM
janmn
Intermediate

OK thanks, but where should I jack it up in the front then? (I apologize for being a bit slow, but I would rather be absolutely sure than real sad after the fact...)
The following users liked this post:
CarolinaVette7 (10-09-2022)
Old 09-29-2010, 03:50 PM
anmracing
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
St. Jude Donor '09