C3 General General C3 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How should i go about painting...?

Old 01-31-2011, 07:36 PM
annasvett
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How should i go about painting...?

HI, Im working on a 74 corvette project and i put the engine in and got the interior looking good enough for now so its painting time. I spent the last 2 weeks repairing a huge whole in the finberglass with the west system 105 and it has been great (just waiting for the 407 filler to come to finish the body work). I have a few questions that I was hoping someone out there could help me with. Like what kinda glazing putty should i use for the body work that i can sand down smooth and feather in. And of course what paint system should I use. I love this car and would love to spend tons of money on the paint but being that i am a college student most of my money goes to school. I did happen so save about 1000 dollar from this summers job to put towards painting. I dont have a garage though to paint it in but i was planning on getting a car cannopy and making it as air tight as possible... I would love some help??????
Old 01-31-2011, 07:51 PM
GS977
Burning Brakes

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

use EVERCOAT 2part putty and you won't have a problem. it comes with a tube of hardner. it's in a green and white bottle. i would not use a glazing putty without a hardner. it will shrink!!!
i like to use DeBeers paint and clear but have never had a problem with other brands i used ppg, sherwin williams, sikkins,ici, i can't remember all the others i used. if you want to save some money you can get the basecoat in OMNI, it's made by PPG. and put a good clear over it.
you can easily spend @ $400.00 just for the clear, hardner and reducers.
what color are you going with? oh yea... we need pics
good luck!!!
Old 01-31-2011, 07:59 PM
Acro74
Instructor