C3 General General C3 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rebuilding my front suspension for my '71, did I miss anything?

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2011, 01:48 PM
StingrayLust
Burning Brakes

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Default Rebuilding my front suspension for my '71, did I miss anything?

My rubber bushings are shot, and with the car pulling hard left when driving, it's something I cannot put off until next summer like I was hoping. So I'm about to make my RockAuto order for all of the parts and was looking for input on anything I might have missed as this is my first attempt at the front suspension. The front desk "jockey" at my local AdvanceAuto balked at my price list of parts from RockAuto and said "these are great prices" and didn't seem to want to match them even though their online help says they will price match.

Suspension : Ball Joint
MOOG Part # K6034 [qty 2]
Frt Susp; Upper

MOOG Part # K6035 [qty 2]
Frt Susp; Lower

Suspension : Control Arm Bushing
MOOG Part # K304 Package Quantity As Shown In Image Control Arm Bushing Kit [qty 1]
Frt Susp; Lower

MOOG Part # K5196 Package Quantity As Shown In Image Control Arm Bushing Kit [qty 2]
Frt Susp; Upper

Suspension : Coil Spring
MOOG Part # 5758 Sold In Pairs [qty 1]
Frt Susp; w/o A/C; Heavy Duty Replacement; Constant Rate Springs

Steering : Tie Rod End
MOOG Part # ES323L [qty 2]
Frt Strg; Outer; RH
Frt Strg; Inner; LH

MOOG Part # ES323R [qty 2]
Frt Strg; Outer; LH
Frt Strg; Inner; RH

Brake/Wheel Hub : Wheel Seal
TIMKEN Part # 9406S [qty 2]

Transmission-Manual : Input Shaft Bearing
TIMKEN Part # SET5 [qty 2]

Transmission-Manual : Intermediate Shaft Bearing
TIMKEN Part # SET3 [qty 2]

It's going to cost me $392.16 for the parts. I'll clean up and reuse all of the other parts
Old 08-15-2011, 03:01 PM
sly vette
Safety Car

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

In my experience the Idler arm wears faster than most other parts...Are you sure yours is good???