Sponsored by:

Need some input from those who have had their cars painted

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2012, 10:28 AM
FLYNAVY30
Le Mans Master

Received 2,365 Likes on 1,034 Posts

Default Need some input from those who have had their cars painted

Guys, Im new to this side of the house, generally over on the C5 section, but Im giving serious consideration to selling my Z06 to finance the build up of a '68 convertible Ive been looking at locally. The car is actually in pretty good shape... frame is solid with no rust, bird cage is solid, the attachment points look good, no significant fiberglass damage, relatively straight body lines, etc.

Im planning on doing all the mechanical work myself, but farming out the body work and paint. My question is to those of you who have pulled the body off the frame and sent it out to be painted, what kind of expense am I looking at for a good "driver quality" single color paint job? I dont need anything show car, but a nice base/clear coat job that you would find on a daily driver. My area of concern is that: 1. The car has some horrible textured '70s green and purple paint job that is going to need to be removed before it can be repainted, 2. I plan on running side pipes, how much work will be involved with filling the cut outs in the rear valance from the factory exhaust, and 3. there are two repairs in the fiberglass in common areas, the battery well, and the driver footwell both have patches that while not big, were clearly done by an amateur.

Any help you can provide would be much appreciated as I have a good idea of what expenses are going to be involved for all the mechanical aspects of the build, but im not terribly familiar with body work, especially fiberglass.

Thanks for the help
Old 01-12-2012, 10:59 AM
blckslvr79
Drifting

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

The cost (and time) is in the prep work.
"Driver" quality means different things to different people.