Sponsored by:

Buying a C3 for under $8k

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2012, 08:54 AM
tdle22
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying a C3 for under $8k

I wanted to know if its possible to find a daily driver with little to no rust problems for under $8000. I live in Houston as well if that is of any relevance.

Edit: Hmm, I may have been a little off with my description for a "daily driver". I know I should have said something else when I used that term but I couldn't really think of anything. I do not intend on literally driving it daily.

I'm a college student who rarely drives anywhere. I live on campus so commuting is not an issue and when going to work, I cycle because I enjoy the exercise. I really only plan on using it to go out maybe once or twice a week if even that much because when I do go out, its mostly with a group of friends, and driving around in a coupe with a group of 4-8 people isn't really optimal.

What I'm actually looking for is a fun, reliable ride that I can fire up about once about every one or two weeks. Sorry if I shouldn't have used the term "daily driver" to describe my needs.

Last edited by tdle22; 05-21-2012 at 11:44 PM. Reason: clarification
Old 05-18-2012, 09:07 AM
AdamMeh
Melting Slicks

Received 212 Likes on 113 Posts

Yep! There are some pretty darn nice cars out there right now. You're going to spend on the upper end of that 8k range if you want something very solid that will need minimal amounts of safety work before you start driving it. Rust is a big problem on these cars so PLEASE search these forums for all the posts about what to look for and how to look. Stick to Southwestern area cars and NEVER buy anything without looking it over in person.

These cars are getting old - plan on very regular work being done to it and lots of attention to detail. If you can do the work yourself the costs will be "reasonable". If not, it will become a very expensive car to own.

Adam