Need Advice - 1970 454 value and my potential purchase

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2012, 12:51 PM
Vette_Noob
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Advice - 1970 454 value and my potential purchase

Hello all,

First let me preface this post by saying that I know nothing about Vette's and I'm not a mechanic in any way shape or form. I have the potential to purchase a 1970 454 corvette, convertible, manual, mulsanne blue with a white top. There is around 70k miles on the original motor. There is no rust on the vehicle and it is in good driving condition. The current owner has had the car at least 20 years. It is not driven very often and is kept covered. All parts are original. I would put the car in good condition but it is not in show condition.

How do I go about valuing this vehicle? I'm being offered it at a family price of 25k which I'm told is 10-15k approx under it's current value. I believe this information to be fairly accurate but I figured I'd turn here to get more educated.

My main question is what is the range in value on a car of these specs depending on condition?

and

Would you buy it? I have the means to pay cash for the car but I'm stuck. I also have a long term current chevy mechanic in the family that is going to help me learn how to work on the car.
Old 11-29-2012, 02:37 PM
MelWff
Race Director

Received 1,815 Likes on 1,604 Posts

have you looked at www.collectorcarmarket.com ?
Old 11-29-2012, 02:38 PM
boynton6spd
Advanced

Get it inspected...
If it is a NICE driver big block convertible, I think you are doing pretty well...
Good Luck With Purchase!
Old 11-29-2012, 02:57 PM
F22
Le Mans Master

Received 275 Likes on 211 Posts

Originally Posted by boynton6spd
Get it inspected...
If it is a NICE driver big block convertible, I think you are doing pretty well...
Good Luck With Purchase!