Sponsored by:

Corvette haters

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2013, 11:25 PM
79 l-82
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Corvette haters

So let me tell you my story. I bought my first 'Vette last year I was 47, the Corvette was 34. I waited a long time for this glorious union. I had the money several times, don't mention the desire. My wife knew when she met me that I had owed a collectors car in the '80's, not a Vette. When we pulled in the church parking lot, I could tell her who was inside by the cars parked outside. I've been a professional driver for 20 years, logged a million safe drives. If I'm not a car guy then please point me to someone who is. I'll spare you the rest of the details.
After my 1979 L-82 arrived the trouble began. I bought the car on a Thursday, drove it home on the next day. That night the car was egged by my neighbors 17 year old punk son. Of course the father denies that delinquent son was home that weekend. Since then more neighborhood punks have drizzled chocolate sauce over the paint, as well as throw rocks at the windshield. The car has an expensive clear coat paint job, the only thing that will damage it is nuclear fall out. But that is not the point. If you think the trouble is over , think again.
My in-laws (who are outlaws, no joke) have this dreadful hatred for the car. Recently I learned that they contacted an attorney friend of mine in hopes to persuade him to convince me to sell it. I am flabbergasted at this point of the unbelievable hatred that I have encountered with people 'who hate people who own Corvettes". I won't go into the attitude that has possessed my wife regarding the car. I am at my wits end in trying to understand the madness. I must also admit that had I known that there was this much opposition to Corvette owners, I would have bought one many years ago. As a helpful gesture to the adult children in my life to GROW UP !!!