Winterizing Thread

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2013, 07:42 PM
MakoJoe
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Winterizing Thread

Hi all,

While I have my own concoction of stuff I do to my cars before you park them for the winter always wonder what others do since it that time of year to put our toys up for the winter.

This question almost always comes up every fall on the other forums I visit for my Miata and this is my first year on the Corvette Forum.

Change the oil if I am running conventional oil even if I only drove it 1500 miles that summer or have over 3000 miles on Full Syn Oil. This year only have about 2000 miles on Full Synthetic Motor oil so do not need to change it.

For me I fill the gas tank all the way up with fuel.

Next I use the recommended dosage of Sta-Bil Storage treatment, can of HEET and 4 ounces Marvel Mystery Oil. This year instead of using HEET in the tank Sta-Bil came out with an Ethanol Treatment for storage. Drive it around for about 30 miles to get it good and mixed than run up into the engine

I live in an area where almost all gas has 10% Ethanol so I always stick something in the tank to reduce the amount of water the Ethanol attracts to reduce tank rust. Then I spray down the suspension bolts and other bolts with a penatrating oil to reduce rusting. I start the car every once in awhile and let run until it is fully warmed than on warm days in the winter then might take it for a short drive to keep the seals from shrinking too much.

Give it a good bath and 2 coats of wax is the final touch than I cover it up for the winter months.

My toy cars generally sit from sometime in October till at least April or May depending on the Snow fall that year
Old 10-09-2013, 08:53 PM
71coupe
Melting Slicks

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts

I change the oil, regardless if it's syn or reg.