Sponsored by:

Banzaitrey's 69 Convertible Road Race Restoration

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2014, 12:39 AM
Banzaitrey
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Banzaitrey's 69 Convertible Road Race Restoration

I'll start off with a little backstory and all of that boring stuff. I have been meaning to start a thread for a while, but I am finally getting around to it. We are located in Southaven, MS just south of Memphis, TN and have a hot rod shop. The best part is, we don't do any work for the public and just work on our own cars all day! My dad is currently building a 60' Corvette and I am sure I will have a thread started on it before too long. I graduated college in 2012 and as a graduation present, my dad helped me buy an 81' Corvette. I've grown up around hot rods and my first car was a 68' Camaro that I spent the better part of 6-7 years restoring from the time I was 14. After driving the 81' for a year, I decided I wanted to go with a road race look and figured the best way to do that was selling the 81 and going with an older model corvette. Having a 68' Camaro, I was instantly for the idea of getting a 69' because of their tradition in racing and I really like the look of the chrome bumpers. I also decided to try to find a convertible to enjoy during the summer and I love the look of a convertible vintage road racer. After months of searching, I came across a really beat up car that most would not have even given the time of day. The previous owner had fiberglassed an 80 front cap and a newer model rear section to the car and did a not so great job I assume. Then he decided to just rip it all off and it left the car in a condition that many would have just junked it. Being a recent college graduate and halfway through grad school, my budget was low and I bought the car for a super low price. I purchased the car in early March and immediately sent it to get some body work done. This thread will have a lot of pictures and I know that the car will n