Sponsored by:

1980 Value

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2015, 06:28 PM
Warreng
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1980 Value

I'm thinking about buying my 3rd vette. It's a 1980 with a little less than 100,000 miles. Since i am new to the C3 world (prev owned 92 and 03) I was hoping you guys will help me out and let me know if $10,000 is too much to pay. It's in great shape. Also, do you think the value of these late model C3's will climb in the near future? Thanks...
Attached Images  
Old 04-11-2015, 11:01 PM
80Baby
Burning Brakes

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Welcome to the "Dark Side". I'm on my second '80. The first one I purchased brand new off of the dealer's lot. The second is presently undergoing a body-off resto mod. I love the look of the '80-'82 Vette. The cars are also great cruisers. With that said, it pains me to admit that the '80 will not appreciate in value in our lifetime. At least not significantly. Please don't think that a late model C3 will be an investment. I wish they were because I'll sink $30G's into my '80 (purchase price and restoration) and there's no way I'll ever recover my cost. As for the price of the car, you haven't supplied enough photos to effectively gauge the condition of the car. One thing to remember, always be leery of a seller that claims low milage. I'm not saying the car you're looking at isn't a low milage car (photos of the car's condition will determine that), but the odometer on a C3 goes to 99,999 miles then it turns itself over. An odometer that reads 77,000 miles could in fact have 177,000 miles. Something to consider.
Old 04-11-2015, 11:30 PM
SciVette
Pro

Received 32 Likes on 28 Posts

I do not expect my '80 to rise in value to any great degree (but that's not why I purchased it). I love the 80-82s, and although you may hear from many of the chrome bumper crowd that they are not worth anywhere near 10K, in my part of the world decent examples sell for 8-12k on a regular basis.
Old 04-12-2015, 12:08 AM