Sponsored by:

Vin # and Tag number question

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2015, 12:31 PM
timstrong20
Advanced

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Vin # and Tag number question

I am looking at buying a 78 L48 corvette and I have been reading the forum (yes I am a newbie). I ready the 10 things to know and I have a question regarding this.....

RULE #9
Write down the VIN number and also the trim tag information to determine some of the options the car came with, such as interior color, exterior color, and engine information. It is also a good idea to bring a Black Book with you to check the correctness of the VIN, trin tag vs colors and engine data. Also, compare the numbers on the block to the VIN to determine if the engine came with the car or not. This might be a deal breaker to some, but might be what some others want. Also, try your hardest to bring someone who knows vettes, especially C3s, and can be your second set of eyes while you look at the car.

Is there a website I can use to put a Vin number and Tag number in to see if it is matching numbers??? Will it tell me the block number??? Where is the Tag number at again??? Still not quite sure what exactly all MATCHING Numbers is involved....Thanks for the help....
Old 09-20-2015, 03:44 PM
hunt4cleanair
Safety Car

Received 716 Likes on 464 Posts

[QUOTE=timstrong20;1590532340]

RULE #9
Write down the VIN number and also the trim tag information to determine some of the options the car came with, such as interior color, exterior color, and engine information. It is also a good idea to bring a Black Book with you to check the correctness of the VIN, trin tag vs colors and engine data. Also, compare the numbers on the block to the VIN to determine if the engine came with the car or not. This might be a deal breaker to some, but might be what some others want. Also, try your hardest to bring someone who knows vettes, especially C3s, and can be your second set of eyes while you look at the car.