Sponsored by:

Hand Tools

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2015, 11:17 AM
news2me
Racer

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Default Hand Tools

I have been using Craftsman Tools for my whole life and I have been more then happy with them. I want to add on to my set. Last year Harbor Freight opened a store near me. I won't go near there power tools, I heard there bad news. But, how are there hand tools, I'm not a Pro. I'm just a shade tree guy tooling around my own cars. Have any of you guys ever played, with there hand tools. Are they junk, should I pay a few bucks more and stay with Craftsman...
Old 11-27-2015, 11:26 AM
Cooter Tech
Le Mans Master

Received 221 Likes on 154 Posts

I can't comment on Harbor Freight tools. I do not trust cheap tools. They break and usually take your skin with it as it comes apart. If they don't break, they will destroy the fastener that you are trying to remove. I liked Snapon, but they priced themselves out of my pockets. Craftsman has always been a good tool. You can also find some older Craftsman tools on Craig's List or local garage sales. Their lifetime warranty can't be beat. Even Craftsman tape measures are warranted for life.
Old 11-27-2015, 11:54 AM
F22
Le Mans Master

Received 275 Likes on 211 Posts

Originally Posted by news2me
I have been using Craftsman Tools for my whole life and I have been more then happy with them. I want to add on to my set. Last year Harbor Freight opened a store near me. I won't go near there power tools, I heard there bad news. But, how are there hand tools, I'm not a Pro. I'm just a shade tree guy tooling around my own cars. Have any of you guys ever played, with there hand tools. Are they junk, should I pay a few bucks more and stay with Craftsman...
No, not all of it is junk. China will make, whatever you want. You want junk, we'll make junk. You want quality, we can do that too. Example, HK or Heckler and Koch, the famous gun manufacturer. Their knives are made in China, very high quality.