Sponsored by:

Steering box issue???

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2016, 08:36 PM
hummiscorvettetaken
Racer

Received 197 Likes on 105 Posts

Default Steering box issue???

So I took the 68 out today for the first run of the year and when I made a turn the steering wheel didn't "center" back, I had to turn it back straight after the turn?- it's a manual steering car and I am use to having some "play" with the steering however I didn't get the usual snap back after the turn?

Last edited by hummiscorvettetaken; 03-26-2016 at 10:54 AM.
Old 03-26-2016, 12:04 PM
mickey5
Drifting

Received 138 Likes on 110 Posts

How much air did you loose in the tires over the winter?
Old 03-26-2016, 01:04 PM
doorgunner
Nam Labrat

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 4,173 Likes on 2,735 Posts

Also.........the grease/lubricant inside the steering box turns into a waxy-looking substance. Being a rookie I don't know what lubricant you should fill the box with. I'll look in my '68 repair manual and check......
Old 03-26-2016, 01:25 PM
Dynra Rockets
Burning Brakes

Received 236 Likes on 200 Posts

Assuming nothing major wrong with the box, self centering is more a function of caster. Did you get an alignment recently or did you notice the alignment had changed (such as a bushing died over the winter)
Old 03-26-2016, 01:27 PM
doorgunner
Nam Labrat

Support Corvetteforum!

The chassis service manual says to add waterproof grease every 36,000 miles......(which means the grease in my steering box is probably 35 years old).

It says to remove the lowest bolt and the outboard bolt that holds the cover onto the steering box.....then pump grease into the LOWEST hole until it comes out of the OUTER hole (I would try to purge as much of the old grease out through the outboard hole as possible since it has been in the steering box for decades).