Sponsored by:

My First C3 | Build Project

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2016, 12:47 AM
shok
Racer

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

Originally Posted by aoz06
Thanks! I got a pretty good deal on it. I bought the car with the intentions on swapping out the motor. I started learning more about these cars though and was leaning towards keeping the L82 and modifying it. Now I'm not too sure what to do - is it worthwhile to modify the L42? What type of gains are expected from the typical exhaust, headers, cam, etc?
I can't really say other than the big determining factor in my eyes is whether you need to keep it smog legal or not. If not others here can tell you around what hp to expect for a set of mods, there will also be many that says the motor is not worth modifying. You can ignore those guys as most 350s are highly modifiable unless you are trying to build something really quick that would reach the limits of the block.
Old 09-26-2016, 08:20 AM
SpiritOf76
Racer

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

You're right. Material misrepresentation by the seller. It is a L48. I texted messaged him and he's playing dumb.
Bummer! Welcome to the '76 L-48 Owner's Club!

The guy I got mine from told me it was an L-82 also, although at the time I didn't know the difference and it meant nothing to me. He could have said it was a T-101 and I would have been like: "cool."

I love C3's, I like the year, and I like the color, that's all that mattered to me.
Are you planning to restore it to original color, keeping it yellow, or going with something else? I'm debating myself on what color to go with when I repaint. I love my Mahogany color, but I was considering having my shop mix a custom Mahogany; a bit more red and a bit less brown, like a black-cherry.

Very nice work on the air cleaner. Looks brand new!
Old 09-26-2016, 10:21 AM
Richard Daugird
Melting Slicks

Received 717 Likes on 517 Posts