Sponsored by:

1981 Rocker Channel & Body Mount Repair

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2016, 09:47 AM
nix1981
Burning Brakes

Received 112 Likes on 68 Posts
Default 1981 Rocker Channel & Body Mount Repair

1981 Body Lift for rocker channel and body mount repair.

I know there are many threads on body lifts, but I wanted to start my own. I thought this would be a good place to document my progress and to get help and feedback to questions as they come up. I've got a lot of them.

To start, I want to say this is an '81. nothing more, nothing less (though it is numbers matching). I'm not a professional. This car is not going to any shows. My goal with this car is to fix what needs to be fixed with while making it as OE as it can be and I've done a lot to the car already in terms of getting the engine and divetrain back to OE and in shape. Eventually I'd like to trade older to an 72 - although this car is growing on me. This is the car prior to it being stripped down.

My objective (for this thread) is to lift the body up and off to replace the body mounts, repair the rocker channels, and A and B pillar posts. I'm planning on using inserts. The outcome is for the body to have solid mounting to the chassis. My constraints are that I'm working from my home two car garage with less than commercial equipment and tools. I'm not looking forward to this, but I'm committed to trying and learning.

The interior has been removed except the dash etc. and I'm removing the body mount bolts. I need to cut a few out as the nut started spinning (I'll deal with that later) then on to disconnecting everything - engine, front bumper clip, rear bumper...

#4 Mounts have been removed. #3 bolts are spinning but have easy access with the rear panel removed. Passenger side #2 bolt is removed but Drivers side is spinning. Both #1 bolts are spinning. The nose bolt is removed. Is it easier to cut these out with a sawsall or cutoff grinder?

Example of the #4 and #1 mounts.