Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2017, 05:52 PM
L-46man
Melting Slicks

Received 1,218 Likes on 844 Posts
Default 1982 CE owners

This is a 'feeler thread'.

Specifically for the 82 CE peeps.

Yes, legendarily the hatch hinges are a PIA. I've been hearing this for thirty-five years. And it's true. Not Chevy's finest hour.

I'm a new CE owner, but a heckava mechanic and a mechanical Engineer, so this stuff doesn't throw me.

The Hatch on my 17,700 mile CE was totally skew-wiff. The hinge pot metal castings have spread out, (the 'C' got bigger) by 1/2 inch.

So much so that the glass was almost hitting the rear deck, the top gasket wasn't sealing at all....and the BIGGIE...COULDN"T EVEN OPEN THE HATCH.

The latch pins were jammed against the cast keepers.

I figured it all out and I fixed it. It took 12 hours...and my back is not liking me very much. But it came out perfect.

So does anybody want me to write the procedure on how to fix this?

A hint...there is really only .250" of hinge adjustment...so what do you do when you've run out of adjustment?

Anyway, it's fixed...I re-tensioned the cables and the latches and fixed the hinges....and now it's a two-finger pull to open the hatch, which opens with a 'shoosh' like the hatch on the Millenium Falcon.

The window is now centered in the opening.

Interested, or am I 'Joe on the Hill' or should I say McLellan.

UnkaHal

Last edited by L-46man; 02-24-2017 at 05:55 PM.
The following 3 users liked this post by L-46man:
bj61662 (02-24-2017), carriljc (05-10-2021), Philip Pritchard (05-14-2021)
Old 02-24-2017, 09:13 PM
hugh9222
Racer

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

PLEASE DO THE PROCEDURE!! I have tape on mine to keep the interior dry. My hinges have expanded so much I can't open the window. I know of no one reproducing the hinges so if you can help it will be appreciated. Thanks in advance. Hugh
The following users liked this post:
Philip Pritchard (05-14-2021)
Old 02-27-2017, 11:48 AM
L-46man
Melting Slicks