Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

77 Resto-Mod

Old 03-13-2017, 08:31 PM
badapplegolf
Instructor

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Default 77 Resto-Mod

Hi all, and thanks for all the warm welcome's.
Welcome to my very first corvette build. ( read as, " welcome to my very first build" ) The only other total restoration job I've done was a boat, which was hard for me cause I'm not really a boat guy. But it turned out great, and I broke even on the money side. ( Not counting the parts cost, or all the man hours involved of course.) The boat build was done for me, and me only. I built it the way I wanted it because I was gonna keep it forever. And, I had a great time doing it. Only sold it because we found a new house that we just HAD to have, and I needed cash for the down payment. Since Lake Mead is now more like Puddle Mead, it was a good choice to sell.

I'm an old pipefitter/welder by trade, Although the last time I actually had my hood down was nearly 20 years ago now. It'll be interesting to see how well those old skills are.

My goal for this build is simple, make it the best 77ish it can be. Use modern parts where they are appropriate, and make it fun to drive. This car will be a driver, not a show stopper. I'm gonna build it like I'm gonna keep it. (knowing I'll have to sell it to pay for the next one)

Since I'm new to vettes, any and all feedback is welcome.

The engine is pretty much decided, old 402 bored out to 427, mild cam, new heads, headers. Figuring 450-500 HP.

I'm going to full weld the box frame, and add the GM recomended gussetts.

Not totally decided on suspension, or steering. Seems from my research, everybody is pretty much 50/50 on how much, if any, gain is to be had from the high doller new stuff. I'm leaning toward new, but original bb springs, and new steering box. If there's anyone out there who swears I should convert to rack and pinion, please speak now. Also, I will almost deffinatly be running 18" wheels.

Thanks in advance to all who help