C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How do I disconnect the computer on my 1981 and install a Edelbrock 1406 carb?

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2005, 06:14 PM
John V
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do I disconnect the computer on my 1981 and install a Edelbrock 1406 carb?

I'm new to this Corvette game, but excited to get my stock 1981 350 running right. I've seen several C3 Corvette owners with Edelbrock carburation convertions on their vettes and would like to do it to mine. These C3s look so clean and do not have all the smog and vacuum hoses under the hood, of which half are not connected to anything.I've read that you can only disconnect part of the ECM, and at other times I've read you can disconnect the entire computer. Because my 1981 has been sitting, the Q-jet needs rebuilding, so I wish to go with an uncluttered better performing carburation system.

In my research I've been looking at several options and have come up with a million questions; however I'd appreciate any guidance regarding the following basic questions I have:

Is Edelbrock the way to go? If so what manifold and carb should I be looking at?
Is the Edelbrock Performer manifold (without EGR) and the 1406 carb (625 cfm) the way to go?
Is the Road Demon a viable opption?
Do I need a new distributor? If so, what kind?
Where should I start? Computer, Carburator, Distributor, etc?

Can the basic home repair man, auto maintenance technician (checks oil and fluids, changes spark plugs) do it?

Thanks For Your Help

John V

Last edited by John V; 06-16-2005 at 06:27 PM.
Old 06-16-2005, 06:48 PM
CA-Legal-Vette
Race Director

Received 317 Likes on 268 Posts

Hi John and wecome.

I won't go through a long diatribe about keeping your '81 stock. If you'd like, I'll do this later