C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

why are my newly installed u-joints binding?

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2005, 10:28 PM
Frankenvette
Melting Slicks

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts

Default why are my newly installed u-joints binding?

I'm installing u-joints as part of my rear suspension rebuild. This is my first time installing u-joints and I'm using Brute Force brand joints. I installed one of the u-joints on my half shaft with no problems. The next u-joint I installed into the other half shaft is binding. Is there a trick to installing them that keeps them from binding? In case anyone wants to know how I installed them... my vise is not wide enough to press the joints in so I lightly tapped them in with a hammer and socket per a Car Craft magazine article I have. I tried not to use any more force than necessary. Could the hammering be causing the grease to load up on one side of the joint? Any suggestions before I take these to a driveshaft shop and pay someone? I hate paying others to do what I should be able to do

Last edited by Frankenvette; 06-16-2005 at 10:54 PM.
Old 06-16-2005, 10:36 PM
1980 454
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

A friend and myself decided to give my truck some new brakes and u/v joints one day we decided to do the brakes first and about a bottle of wisky later the u/v joints if you mean the trunion cap wont go in all the way you may have a roller pin squashed in the end cap needless to say i never drink wisky working on my vehicles only beer!
Old 06-16-2005, 10:57 PM
Frankenvette
Melting Slicks

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts

I try to keep the whiskey consumption to a minimum when working on the vette. What I mean by binding is that the u-joint is not moving (rotating) freely.
Old 06-16-2005, 11:03 PM
82Vette'ster
Pro

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts