C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Breather Valve and oil questions....

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2006, 06:11 AM
Erics Quick71
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Breather Valve and oil questions....

Hello all I am new to cars/Corvettes.
So bear with me I can use all the help I can.
I have done my first new projects.
Replaced all 4 headlights with working ones.
Added a PCV valve.

NOW I need to add a breather ont he other valve cover.
There was one in the car when I got it(ON the passanger side floor)
Probelm is the post is the same size as my valve cover opening.
Add a grommet-SURELY will not fit....So I need a smaller sized post/breather.

Anyway-
I am looking online at NAPA and they ALL seem to be 1 1/4 inch posts.
Are there possibly more than 1 size.
Maybe 1 1/2 or something larger?
I would like a simple breather...
Maybe like this:

If I can't get one to fit the opening-Is it ok to go with a type like this that clips in?

Just know I would like the valve cover hole filled in before I get to my Dads for help with my first oil change.

OK-2nd question.
I know I need 5 quarts of oil.
BUT what BRAND/WEIGHT do you recommend?
Same for filter.
I am in Northern New Jersey-will that affect the weight of oil?

As far as the actual oil change-My DAD is a car guy(51 Merc right now) So not too worried about the actual oil change now-Just wanna show up with the right stuff.
So its a nice smooth process.
He has all the tools, jacks, ramps, funnels, etc.
May even do it at his friends garage who has a lift so I get to check out the underside in detail.
If I do get the car up-
Does that make it easier to adjust the E-BRAKE?
WOuld definately like that tighter as all the way up-Still roll on level ground...lol

Any help would be appreciated.
I will be picking these items up Today(FRIDAY) after work.