C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking for chassis dyno tuning input.....

Old 11-19-2006, 08:50 AM
69monzaredbigblock
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for chassis dyno tuning input.....

Hi,
I'm thinking about putting my stock 69 L36 on a chassis dyno to help me square away my carb tuning. I have no knowledge of the different types of dyno's there are and which one would be best for my application. I'm looking for a recommendation here. Since I want to run it on the dyno primarily for carb tuning I want A/F mixture readings from idle to WOT. The dyno sheets that I've seen posted on this forum show A/F readings starting at 3K. Is it possible to read A/F through the entire range? I thought I'd arm myself with a little knowledge before I went any further with my dyno shopping. Any good dyno tuning sites would be much appreciated.
Thanks,
Warren
Old 11-19-2006, 10:18 AM
ML67
Burning Brakes

Received 106 Likes on 43 Posts

I’ve only tested on Dynojets so I can’t speak on other chassis dynos, although I suspect they have similar capabilities and options.

In order to tune your carb on a dyno as quickly as possible, the facility should have a wide band O2 sensor. This can either be attached directly to your header collector or exhaust pipe just aft of your exhaust manifolds if you have an O2 bung. Otherwise they just stick the probe in the end of your tail pipe.