C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

windshield wiper motor

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2007, 03:22 PM
wackywitch
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default windshield wiper motor

I have just replaced my wiper motor. The motor never worked since I bought the car. I'm not good at all with electric so I ask this question. I tested the red and white wire connection to the wiper motor and there is no juice with the key on or off.So tracing the wire I come to a rubber boot connection with 2 red and white wires going in and 1 red and white wire coming out no juice to either side. The vacuum worked perfectly before I put the new wiper motor in, but now the wiper door opens when you start the car. Where does the motor juice come from inside the car or outside on the firewall ? I tested the wiper switch inside the car and have juice there. Please Help - George
Old 04-30-2007, 05:24 PM
0Willcox Corvette
Former Vendor

Received 1,813 Likes on 1,458 Posts
St. Jude Donor '08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15

The wiper switch is just a ground, with no current on it. The current comes from the ign. switch, but not before it runs through the wiper over ride switch mounted between your lets under the dash. There are two fields to the wiper motor. The rubber boot should plug in to the limit switch boot. It has a T style plug in it that will only pass voltage if the limit switch buttong is pushed by the plunger made to the wiper door linkage. You can buypass this with a jumper wire if the door is open (closed and it will jamb up the arms).

Last edited by Willcox Corvette; 04-30-2007 at 05:31 PM.
Old 05-07-2007, 08:03 PM
SoCalErv
Burning Brakes

Received 39 Likes on 35 Posts
Army