C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Mechanical secondaries VS Vacuum secondaries

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2008, 06:05 PM
bozzman3
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Mechanical secondaries VS Vacuum secondaries

Why do the experts say to use a vacuum secondary carb on a car with a automatic tranny?What performance problems would occur if a mechanical carb was installed on a auto?
Old 02-08-2008, 06:12 PM
Scott Marzahl
Le Mans Master

Received 194 Likes on 149 Posts

Not sure what experts you are talking to, I'm no expert but I've used both vacuum secondaries and mechanical secondaries with automatic transmissions and there are no problems. The vacuum secondaries are a little easier on gas. IMHO, If you aren't out racing all the time, the vacuum secondaries are more than adequate for most applications.
Old 02-08-2008, 06:51 PM
TheSkunkWorks
Le Mans Master

Received 68 Likes on 50 Posts

On most any street machine, particularly those above about 3200#, the vac sec carb is typically the right call. By the nature of their on-demand operation, they are more forgiving of oversizing errors while being easier for most people to fine tune. It isn't hard to figure out that this allows a bigger carb to be utilized for top end flow without suffering as many drivability/tunability issues.

IMHO, proper fine tuning of the right vac sec carb can pretty much eliminate most response complaints, which aren't as critical on the street in the first place. As evidence I practice what I preach, I'm putting a vac sec 995-1095 King Demon RS on my 496 redux, which is mating up with a Muncie 4-speed.

My $0.02...
Old 02-08-2008, 10:27 PM
bozzman3
Racer

Well,I dont care about gas mileage!I want performance!! But,I dont want to have driveability problems.
Old 02-08-2008, 11:22 PM
0utlaw
8th Gear

A P-40 and a C3 make an awesome combination.