C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lars or other Q-Jet guru's please answer a couple of questions.

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2002, 03:25 PM
e3pres
Le Mans Master

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
St. Jude Donor '08-'09

Default Lars or other Q-Jet guru's please answer a couple of questions.

Please no Q-Junk, Q-Crap, Q-Bog, etc. jokes. I kinda like the old beasts. :)

This is my first attempt at a rebuild, and everything seems to be going well at the moment. But I do have a couple of questions. The carb I'm working with is supposedly from a '79 L-82. That seems reasonable since it appears to be identical to the one off of my '79 L-48. So here goes:

Question 1:

The idle-mix screws were sealed from the factory so the person I bought it from had drilled holes in the bottom of the carb apparently to drive out the caps over the screw heads. Will this hurt the carb? It doesn't look like it will cause any trouble, but I want to make sure before I finish the work.

Question 2:

The Primary Jets are 12C? (May be 72C)
The Primary Metering Rods are 40K
and
The Secondary Metering Rods are CH

Will this combination be a good starting point for my engine? (See Sig for Specs) Any other suggestions, comments, or advice will be appreciated.

TIA,
Old 01-02-2002, 05:21 PM
SteveG75
Le Mans Master

Received 521 Likes on 351 Posts

Default Re: Lars or other Q-Jet guru's please answer a couple of questions. (e3pres)

1. Not sure about the idle screws.

2. Seems like a very small rod. I am running a 74/47 combo on the primary side. All rods have the same tip size (.026) so the size of your jet controlls WOT mixture and the difference in AREA between rod and jet controls part throttle mixture.

The knowledge bought to you by the letter A and Lars Q-jet tuning paper (available at http://www.corvettefaq.com). :jester
Old 01-02-2002, 06:36 PM
clem zahrobsky
Le Mans Master