C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dead Injector in my '82

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2009, 02:02 PM
MVetter
Navigator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dead Injector in my '82

**8/29 edit- New information found. Basically disregard all this and find the newer post down the page.**

Hi there. I found this forum via a Google search. I thought it would be in my best interest to learn more about this problem and my potential options before my mechanic takes a stab at it.

I am not a mechanic. I can change the oil if necessary and point to various things like the fan and say "That's a fan". I've got an '82 that started having issues yesterday. My mechanic, as I originally described the symptoms to him over the phone, thought it might have been the fuel pump. When he took a look at it he told me one of the injectors died and wasn't doing anything, therefore I was running on half an engine. He hasn't worked on a crossfire injection in ~15-20 years, so I know he's not looking forward to this. He told me I'd probably have to buy 2 injectors for synchronization purposes. The one that's working currently is just so old that it might have a lower flow rate than the replacement part and blah blah blah I should get 2 so they match.

He's hinted this will be 'difficult' to work on, but thankfully less painful than the fuel pump which is, according to him, "like getting kicked in the *****". I just am trying to find out what my options are. I'm in central Illinois which is a pretty big Corvette area. I thought maybe someone has a friend of a friend that knows someone that has devoted their life to 1982 crossfire fuel injectors and can help. I do trust my mechanic, and I don't want to bash him in any way, I just feel I should know more.