C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

80 Engine Mod help

Old 02-14-2010, 10:17 AM
Smoking Gun
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 80 Engine Mod help

I have an 80 with an L-82 and 101k miles. Everything is stock right now and I'm wanting to spruce up the engine a little this Spring. In my research I have found there are several ways to do this. I'm thinking of Intake, Cam, Lifters, and timing chain to start with. Something like this: http://www.holley.com/300-502.asp

I am very new to the Vette world so I'm wondering if making these changes will only lead to more problems down the road since the motor already has 101k. Could doing this add more stress to the engine?

I'm also considering a new carb. Which would make more sense to complete first?
Old 02-14-2010, 10:28 AM
larryg3
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 53 Likes on 36 Posts

i would be concerned with doing a top end build and ignoring the bottom end. There are at least two things to consider: your goal as far as HP and your budget.

You might want to consider a crate engine.
Old 02-14-2010, 10:33 AM
Smoking Gun
Instructor

Originally Posted by larryg3
i would be concerned with doing a top end build and ignoring the bottom end. There are at least two things to consider: your goal as far as HP and your budget.

You might want to consider a crate engine.
I never really considered a goal for HP. I guess I just want to give it a little extra juice and improve performance. What are some mods I should consider to improve the bottom end?

I think a crate engine will be a little on the expensive side right now.
Old 02-14-2010, 10:46 AM
larryg3
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 53 Likes on 36 Posts