C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie here....

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2010, 08:13 AM
jleavy
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here....

My son and I just purchased an 81 in decent shape. Needs paint and interior work, but is solid underneath and most electricals work fine. Starts and drives fine.
My question is this: at 190 HP stock, its a bit gutless. What is the least expensive way to uncork this engine a bit?
It will need exhaust soon. Suggestions? Are headers worth the money?
Thanks for any and all input!

Chip,
Upstate NY
Old 06-09-2010, 08:21 AM
Attfay Elleybay
Burning Brakes

Newer heads (vortec), duel exhaust is a noticeable improvement.
Old 06-09-2010, 08:59 AM
MrJlr
Race Director

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts

Originally Posted by Attfay Elleybay
Newer heads (vortec), duel exhaust is a noticeable improvement.

Although doing a top end on an old engine can sometimes blow out the bottom...
Exhaust will really help.....
Old 06-09-2010, 09:19 AM
jleavy
3rd Gear

Default Low miles

I forgot to mention that it only has 37k miles on it. The exhaust I'm replacing is original. What about the smog and detuning done in '81 - is there a good guide to follow for removing/upgrading that?
What are your thoughts on headers? Worth the extra time/effort/leaks?
Thanks.
Old 06-09-2010, 11:23 AM
sniperdiver37
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by jleavy
I forgot to mention that it only has 37k miles on it. The exhaust I'm replacing is original. What about the smog and detuning done in '81 - is there a good guide to follow for removing/upgrading that?
Thanks.