C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Pilot Bearing vs Pilot Bushing

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2011, 05:34 PM
jtramont
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Pilot Bearing vs Pilot Bushing

I have a C3 with a 350 Muncie 4sp and am in the process of changing the clutch. In the process I figured I'd remove the pilot bushing and change it as well (I was afraid that Mr Murphy and his law would rear it's head and the bushing would fail right after I reinstalled the transmission).

I've read on a number of forums very mixed comments on using the original pilot bushing vs switching to a pilot bearing. Any ideas which is better/safer and what the best source is for the bushing? (I have a Centerforce pilot bushing on hand)

Also what is the best way to install either?

Jim
Old 01-23-2011, 06:27 PM
jaychis
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am no expert on this, but from what I have been told and from what I have seen on other forums including the Chevelle and Camaro forums, bearings can break. Bushings are pretty much bullet proof.
Old 01-23-2011, 07:37 PM
79Guy
Heel & Toe

I am also no expert on this as well but I will have to agree with jaychis. The bearing is better in some retrospecs. It will handle better than a bushing if you are doing intown commuting in heavy stop and go traffic. The downside to the bearing is that it has no external lubrication after installation and no cooling function installed what so ever for the bearing itself. When it fails it will be a complete seize up unlike the bushing. I also look at it like this, the factory bushing lasted for how long? I imagine a new one will last just as long as the last one. Either way I think you will be satisfied with which ever you choose. Preventative maintenance always helps tho.
Old 01-23-2011, 10:12 PM
TheSkunkWorks
Le Mans Master

Received 68 Likes on 50 Posts

Bronze bushing.