C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I Need a tip on a low profile intake manifold

Old 06-25-2011, 11:00 PM
CHRISP73
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I Need a tip on a low profile intake manifold

Is anyone aware of an aftermarket intake that is similar to a performer rpm by edelbrock but that will fit under a stock vette hood?
Old 06-25-2011, 11:59 PM
SteveG75
Le Mans Master

Received 521 Likes on 351 Posts

What gives the RPM its performance is the height that allows better runner design.

Edelebrock will tell you that an RPM will not fit, which is true if you use a stock air cleaner. You can fit an RPM under a stock 73-79 hood using a drop base air cleaner. I like the Moroso Low Profile Racing Air Cleaner but other types have been used. I have been running the 7104 RPM Q-Jet for 4 years now using the Moroso air cleaner.
Old 06-26-2011, 12:52 AM
Vette5.5
Le Mans Master

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

You could always use a standard Edelbrock Performer that make tons of low end torque, but not known for high rpm power. Some use a factory air cleaner assembly from Olds 403 engines that drop down pretty low. Nice thing is you can easily modify these cutting in a couple 4" air hose snouts to pick up cool outside air, rather than open type elements. Much quieter too.
Old 06-26-2011, 03:07 AM
Günther-C3
Pro

Received 16 Likes on 11 Posts

The Torker II fits under a BB-Hood with BigBlock.

Günther
Old 06-26-2011, 05:45 AM
RickyBerg
Pro

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

Originally Posted by CHRISP73
Is anyone aware of an aftermarket intake that is similar to a performer rpm by edelbrock but that will fit under a stock vette hood?
What engine are we talking about?

If we talking BB (as Gunter says) the Edelbrock Torker II will go under the stock BB hood.