C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'76 heater control

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2012, 09:10 PM
Marine93
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '76 heater control

How's it going? ok, I'm new here and am knee deep in my resto. I am doing this for my son while he's over seas in Afghanistan and I am in charge of this project. With that said, this resto is going to be a complete custom job, we are not worried about keeping things original and because he bought a new Hurst shifter, using the old console is not an option. I am a master carpenter so making a new console and instrument bezel for the gauges and stereo will not be a problem, my question is can I put a heater/ac controller from a '80 to '82 in there? the car originally had AC but we are not replacing that, so no AC. Do I need a different heater core? all I want is the heat to come on when he turns it on and the fan to work... thanks, any help will be appreciated! the car is a 1976E just to let you know.

Last edited by Marine93; 11-21-2012 at 09:14 PM. Reason: I forgot some info
Old 11-23-2012, 01:49 PM
MelWff
Race Director

Received 1,816 Likes on 1,605 Posts

The 80-82 looks completely different so what you do is based on your fabrication skills. Unless the core is bad no reason to change it.
Old 11-23-2012, 03:37 PM
Brcmpbl
Drifting

Received 44 Likes on 39 Posts

I don't see why using a Hurst shifter will render the stock console a goner. People make this switch all the time without having to change the console. Are you doing something else that would necessitate this?
Old 11-23-2012, 05:18 PM
0Willcox Corvette
Former Vendor

Received 1,813 Likes on 1,458 Posts
St. Jude Donor '08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15

Originally Posted by Brcmpbl