C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Carb/exhaust question

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2012, 12:28 AM
JdCope
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Carb/exhaust question

I recently picked up 74 stingray with an original l48 (rebuilt a few years ago) and I am looking for some ways to increase power. I'm a novice but have some handy friends. One has recommended replacing the stock carbureter as an easy project to increase horse power. Any suggestions on one?
I'm also looking for a recommendation on exhaust system? Im in Cali but pre smog year. Went by a shop today and he said stick with 2 inch pipes and a new flow master would sound better but I won't see any increase in performance.
I appreciate any tips!
Old 05-08-2012, 12:32 AM
briankeery
Melting Slicks

Received 63 Likes on 50 Posts
NCM Sinkhole Donor

How much $$$$$$$$ we talkin'?
Old 05-08-2012, 12:56 AM
JdCope
3rd Gear

I'm pretty flexible, if it'll add power I'll spend the cash. I still have a lot to spend though including paint.
Old 05-08-2012, 08:13 AM
7T1vette
Team Owner

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,271 Posts

There is no "functional" reason to change carbs. You may need to rebuild yours, but that costs about $30 and 4 hours of your time (for the first one). The Q-Jet will equal [or better] any other carb on performance and it is the best of the bunch on efficiency (economy) under normal driving conditions.

To increase performance, tune the carb and distributor {re-curve it for performance}, which is essentially FREE hp; then change heads, cam, and exhaust on existing engine. Just make sure the heads and cam are compatible and will work together well.

Last edited by 7T1vette; 05-08-2012 at 08:16 AM.
Old 05-08-2012, 10:52 AM
Roco71
Melting Slicks

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by 7T1vette