C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Clutch fork hitting firewall - Lakewood bell housing

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2012, 08:10 PM
Dkarr
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Clutch fork hitting firewall - Lakewood bell housing

Well... I just installed my rebuilt engine and trans into my 69 and discovered a very disturbing issue. My clutch fork is hitting the firewall with only about 1 inch of travel available. I installed a Lakewood bell and measured the 4.75 inches out from the pivot ball to the block face (I took into account the Lakewood block plate).

So... either I screwed up the measurement or something else is wrong. Anyone else had an issue like this? I assume that the fork pivot ball is not adjusted correctly. I do remember there being a fairly large gap between the throwout bearing and the pressure plate fingers... but this is my first time doing a rebuild so I assumed it was in spec given the measurement I did with the pivot ball. I've included some photos below. Please help.

Hitting the firewall

The total available travel
Old 08-30-2012, 01:18 AM
TimAT
Le Mans Master

Received 424 Likes on 385 Posts
C3 of Year Finalist (appearance mods) 2019

SOmething is off. Trans mount maybe? I've got a Lakewood in my 69 and you could throw a cat between the fork and the firewall/floor. If the rear of the trans or the motor mounts are too high I could see it driving your clearance down.
Old 08-30-2012, 02:08 AM
427Hotrod
Race Director

Received 1,875 Likes on 913 Posts
2020 C2 of the Year - Modified Winner
2020 Corvette of the Year (performance mods)
C2 of Year Winner (performance mods) 2019
2017 C2 of Year Finalist

You've either got too short of a stud or throwout bearing.