C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How does one roll new rod bearings in place

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2012, 08:59 PM
superdave269
Pro

Received 21 Likes on 17 Posts

Default How does one roll new rod bearings in place

Does anyone have any tips on how to "roll" new rod bearings in with the engine still in the car? I have read that it has been done but I have never done this before so I wanted to ask exactly how to do this. The nice thing is the pan looks like it will come out unlike my chevelle.Thanks
Old 12-13-2012, 09:21 PM
Korevette
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Having no personal experience with this excersize I can only share from what I heard in discussion.

I was of the understanding you would take the rod cap off, give the rod a slight tap to free up the upper bearing, lube, push/insert the new bearing up against the old one end on end to 'push' it around the crank journal to replace. Lay the replacement bearing in the cap and tighten up with taking in consideration for clearance and torque.

I am sure it would be wise not to 'scratch' anything. I wonder if Chiltons or Motor car repair manuals would have any knowledge.
Old 12-13-2012, 10:30 PM
oldalaskaman
Le Mans Master

Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts

Its a poor mans rebuild, I do it a lot , its not difficult, you swap out the mains also, if you're doing it in an attempt to fix a light rod knock, you are to late, the time to do it is before you need to, just when you notice oil pressure dropping off and fresh oil doesnt help bring it back. btw, also roll in a new oil pump

Last edited by oldalaskaman; 12-13-2012 at 11:30 PM.
Old 12-13-2012, 11:44 PM
cardo0
Le Mans Master

Received 373 Likes on 356 Posts

Default U don't roll the rod bearing - just the mains.