C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How do I set camber? Tire sitting outside fender!

Old 01-10-2013, 10:45 AM
Scottd
Drifting

Received 139 Likes on 80 Posts

Default How do I set camber? Tire sitting outside fender!

I installed new control arms last year and assumed I had installed them in the same position as when removed. Last night I noticed that my pass rear tire was sitting a good inch outside the fender and my side wall was all scrubbed up from hitting it. BRAND NEW tires I might add. Less than 50 miles on them.
I started playing with the camber bolt but I just couldnt get it to set right. When I managed to get the top of the tire under the fender, then the bottom of the tire stuck out WAY to far. Im missing some kind of adjustment here, I know it.
I measured the frame, took several different readings, everything appears straight (I just measured from several reference points on each side)

Anybody have some insight or tips to get this tire vertical enough to get me to an alignment shop come spring?
Old 01-10-2013, 10:53 AM
larrywalk
Melting Slicks

Received 102 Likes on 73 Posts

What is the rim size and backspacing?
Old 01-10-2013, 11:11 AM
Scottd
Drifting

Originally Posted by larrywalk
What is the rim size and backspacing?
They are stock, old school steel rims. Im only having a problem with this one tire. Ill try and look at the backspacing again, but Im assuming because they are stock, this probably isnt the issue.

The only thing that dictates camber is that nut, correct? Am I missing some other rear end adjustment? My trailing arms have equal shims on both sides.
Old 01-10-2013, 11:23 AM
larrywalk
Melting Slicks