C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help rebuilding sbc 400

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2013, 06:11 AM
wadedwyer
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help rebuilding sbc 400

I'm hoping some of you can help me with the rebuild of a 400. I have a set of Vortec heads that I want to swap on the block but I know it's not as simple as that. This is a stock 509 block.

I know with the stock pistons and Vortec heads, the compression would be way to high. I'm planning on buying new dished pistons (22cc dome) which will get the compression lower with the Vortec heads. I will have the blocked bored 30 over.

I have very little engine building experience, so i'm trying to keep this as simple as possible... Vortec heads, vortec intake, new pistons, new cam (I know the Vortec has lift limits). I'm not looking for a high hp motor, just a strong running street engine. I don't have a huge budget, so i'm also trying to keep costs down.

I'm not sure of a few things. Do I need to upgrade the rods from 5.56 to 5.7 to allow for a piston with a larger cc dish? If i have to go with a 5.7 rod, is there anything else I will need to do? I was looking at these pistons... http://www.summitracing.com/parts/uem-kb168-030 They use a 5.7 rod. I'm not sure if there are any options like this for the 5.56 rod.

The car is an 80 with a 4spd.

Any advice is appreciated.
Old 03-10-2013, 10:51 AM
MrJlr
Race Director

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts

ttt
Old 03-10-2013, 12:39 PM
BKbroiler
Le Mans Master

Received 706 Likes on 401 Posts