C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Test Data on 3 more Diesel Oils – Surprising results

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2013, 07:40 PM
540 RAT
Pro

Received 47 Likes on 25 Posts

Default Test Data on 3 more Diesel Oils – Surprising results

First, here’s a look at some background info, for those not familiar with me or my oil testing write-ups, or for those who are familiar but still may not be clear about it all. I'm a working Professional Degreed Engineer, as well as a U.S. Patent holder, who deals with Engineering technical matters for a living. And I’m not just some guy who went to College to become an Engineer. I have also been wrenching on cars and motorcycles since I was a teenager. Before and during College I was a Professional Mechanic. I built my own 540 BBC Street Hotrod engine from scratch. I did not just write a check for someone else to do it.

For a number of years I also held an NHRA Competition Driver's License. In addition to that, I used to Drag Strip test Motorcycles for Honda Motor Company. So, in addition to being an Engineer, I’m also a hands-on gear head and have been a Drag Racer, just like the rest of you.
THE SINGLE MOST IMPORTANT thing a motor oil does for your engine, is prevent wear. Everything else it does for your engine, comes AFTER that. So, at the beginning of 2012, I began Tribology Research using motor oil “Wear Testing” equipment, to get to the truth about the wear prevention capabilities of motor oil. And for those not familiar with the terminology, Tribology means the study of friction, lubrication, and wear between moving surfaces.