C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

81 Engine Tranny swap

Old 08-21-2013, 11:55 PM
Nightwolf_76
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 81 Engine Tranny swap

I purchased an 81 with an automatic tranny. The engine is not original and I have no ideas about what kind of power it puts out. I am considering rebuilding the engine but I have no experience with rebuilds. Does anyone know what engines will drop in if I go with a crate? I would also like to put a manual in it. I'm hoping someone has experience or links that I can use to help make my decisions.

Thanks all.
Old 08-22-2013, 01:53 PM
MelWff
Race Director

Received 1,807 Likes on 1,598 Posts

any chevrolet big block or small block will fit, you have to decide what your budget can handle
Old 08-22-2013, 02:42 PM
Easy Mike
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,468 Likes on 1,247 Posts
Cruise-In II Veteran

Originally Posted by Nightwolf_76
...The engine is not original and I have no ideas about what kind of power it puts out...
How does it drive? You might not need anything more than a good tune up.

Old 08-22-2013, 02:55 PM
MIKE80
Drifting

Received 43 Likes on 34 Posts

Originally Posted by Nightwolf_76
I purchased an 81 with an automatic tranny. I would also like to put a manual in it. I'm hoping someone has experience or links that I can use to help make my decisions.

Thanks all.
What kind of transmission; 4, 5, or 6 speed? Any small block Chevy engine will bolt in. Mods needed if you want to go with a LS engine.
Old 08-22-2013, 03:47 PM
tyancey00
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts

http://www.jegs.com/i/Blueprint+Engi...13CT1/10002/-1