C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hei/Tach Question

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2014, 05:12 PM
cheesenr7
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hei/Tach Question

I have a 73 Corvette. The owner before me installed a hei distributor with out the tach drive. The previous owner also installed a electronic tach out of a 75 or 76. I am having problems getting the tach working. I bought the car with it not working. I do believe the tach is ok though. I inspected the tach board and found no burn marks. When the key is turned to the on position the needle goes to 0 as it should. I tried hooking up an ignition analyzer to the tach side of the distributor to try and use it to read rpm but it also did not read any rpms. I have to admit i have never used this analyzer before. It was given to my grandpa years ago and this is the 1st time im using it. Before I start throwing money and parts to try and fix the problem I would rather figure out what the problem is first. The car runs just fine so I am obviously getting spark from the distributor. Is it possible that the distributor is working fine but not out putting a tach signal?

Any help is apreciated

Thanks
Nick
Old 03-18-2014, 05:54 PM
TimAT
Le Mans Master

Received 424 Likes on 385 Posts
C3 of Year Finalist (appearance mods) 2019

To confirm you're getting a tach signal, (if the car runs you probably are), use a 12v test light. Ground the lead and touch the TACH terminal on the cap with the probe. The light should blink while cranking.
Is there a tach filter in the line between the distributor and the tach?
Old 03-18-2014, 07:30 PM
cheesenr7
Intermediate

So i decided to just run to the auto parts store and pick up a cheap tach. It worked just as it should hooked up to the tach terminal on the distributor.