C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Problem with 327 build...

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2014, 12:45 PM
randymbtech
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Problem with 327 build...

Hey guys,

I just finished a top end build on the 327 in my '68. I installed a modified Vortec head kit from Scoggin dickey Chevy, and a Lunati Voodo 262 hydraulic flat tappet cam and lifter kit. The heads are modified by Scoggin Dickey to accept higher cam lift. I got the motor running and broke in the cam properly (I do this for a living, used the right oil and additive for break in). The motor runs excellent, but it is really noisy. It sounds like it has solid lifters and race valve train. I have set the valve lash 3 times, don't think it's a lash problem.

I just did this same exact package on my L-48 350 and it runs and sounds amazing. It has tremendous torque and pulls great. The only difference is that this is a 327, and the compression ratio is higher because the motor is a '68. The heads that I took off of the 327 are 3917291c fuelie's. According to my research, they should be 64cc just like the Vortec's I installed. Anyone have any ides why this thing sounds so loud? I must be missing something. Thanks!!!
Old 06-08-2014, 01:37 PM
cv67
Team Owner

Received 3,043 Likes on 2,602 Posts
St. Jude Donor '05

faster ramp rates on the cam +roller rockers will bring more noise.Its good noise though
Old 06-08-2014, 02:11 PM
doorgunner
Nam Labrat

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 4,178 Likes on 2,738 Posts

Rookie says-----put some miles on the engine...

maybe it just needs to be treated differently than the other engine....

oil too thin/oil pressure O.K. for the 327.....it's a great engine stock or modified!

Last edited by doorgunner; 06-08-2014 at 02:13 PM.
Old 06-08-2014, 05:52 PM
cardo0
Le Mans Master

Received 373 Likes on 356 Posts