C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Coolant Issues

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2014, 09:16 PM
fka466
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coolant Issues

Good Day Everyone,

Newbie here. I just finished replacing my water pump and power steering pump today. When the job was done I filled the coolant system with GM recommended fluid and took the car out for a drive. I noticed that the car seemed to run warmer than normal, but not too hot to cause me any concern. When I got home I popped the hood to look for any abnormalities. Well i noticed some coolant around the driver side inlet of the water pump. I started looking around more and saw there was a drip from the hose that ran to the intake. I figure I will just tighten that clamp down and be done with it. Well as I continued to look around, I noticed there was a large spot on the inside of the hood, coolant had sprayed all over it.

To be honest I am quite baffled. I am assuming the seal on the water pump did not take and sprung a leak. Can anyone confirm this thought?

I also noticed something else strange. When i would take the car to higher speeds for long periods of time the temperature would rise quite a bit. Any thoughts?

Thank you in advance. Here are some pics from today's cruise.

Old 08-30-2014, 09:47 PM
76CSRvette
Burning Brakes

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

is your fan clutch any good. Did It drip gallons or like small amount. have you driven it around and then pulled over leave car running and pop open hood to check where its coming from precisely. Also do you still have the fan shroud and if so is it installed correctly with all the seals. For the water did you make sure all gaskets were set properly and tightened. for hoses if they are old might as well replace them as they may have cracked and/or will soon.
Old 08-30-2014, 09:57 PM
fka466
Heel & Toe