C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

81 C3 engine questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2015, 05:15 PM
Tom489
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 81 C3 engine questions

Had some great advice so far thanks everyone. So figured I would update the first thread since it turned into a pretty long one and post all the pictures that were requested up front. In case any first time readers are here What I am trying to do is figure out what is running my Frankenstein engine so I can figure out where to go from here on future upgrades.

Will keep the pics updated as I am working on the car as I go with the investigating. May take me a little bit sometimes as I work full time as an aircraft mechanic.

[/QUOTE]
Heads

Last edited by Tom489; 01-21-2015 at 10:24 PM. Reason: Updated Pictures
Old 01-20-2015, 06:17 PM
qwank
Le Mans Master

Received 57 Likes on 44 Posts

show us some pictures of the engine. From what you are saying, I doubt it has the original carb on it.
Old 01-20-2015, 07:30 PM
Tom489
Heel & Toe

Originally Posted by qwank
show us some pictures of the engine. From what you are saying, I doubt it has the original carb on it.
Just went outside and took some pictures. Let me know if you need anything else. Also just noticed for the first time my camera picked it up there is a faint F stamped in front of the engine number would that still be the standard 73 190 hp model? like i said i am just trying to figure out what this engine is completely and what has been done so i know where to start.

also posted here
https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...-question.html

trying to install new valve covers and a open air filter but have questions on what hoses to plug or remove or whats needed if you have advice on that as well. thank you

Old 01-20-2015, 07:31 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

Originally Posted by Tom489