C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

cheap HP

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2015, 11:21 PM
efuria
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default cheap HP

Hello everyone, Im new to this and just got my first Vette its a 76 stingray and I am so happy with it. I have a question? The motor is the stock L48 and I want to get some more HP out of it but on a real tight budget right now. Iv heard you can get "bolt on" parts for it like intake or headers stuff like that to get a little more HP. Any and all suggestions greatly appreciated.
Old 02-12-2015, 11:35 PM
keithinspace
Drifting

Received 129 Likes on 90 Posts

The best, and cheapest, way to get horsepower is to make sure the car is well tuned. New plugs, good wires, solid spark, good timing, good advance curve, and good carb jetting relative to the timing and advance curve.

Outside of that, you're barking up the right tree. An engine is an air pump and the more efficient you make that pump, the more power will be freed.

Intake and exhaust are obvious low-hanging fruit. Remember, though, that as you change the engine, you'll also need to address the advance curve and carb tune at each step to optimize.

Before you go deeper (1.6 rockers, cam, etc.), I'd personally consider looking deeper into the engine and try to establish your valve-to-piston clearance on what you have now. If it is a low-compression engine, you're PROBABLY OK, but it never hurts to find out.

To make power, you need to spend money. That's the near and far of it. With all new, mostly name-brand components, I'm about $7,500 into my solid-roller 'monster' 350. It is still a true 350 (no bore, stroke, or hone) but I figure I'm conservatively sitting on 450 horsepower. That is with the old Winter's aluminmum intake and a tune I'm still tinkering with.