C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

76' rear end info

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2015, 06:52 AM
Dfg_eli.l82
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 76' rear end info

Hi guys, new to the forum and had a few questions. I just got the car about a month ago. I am not new to cars or being a mechanic in any way. I weld(mostly exhaust work, framework, and bodywork,fabricating) and work on cars pretty much every single day. But I am new to corvettes haha. First corvette I have ever owned. My last cars were pro street Foxbody and sn95 mustangs, and a body mopars. I am wanting to know a bit of tips and info on these cars regarding the stock rear ends and suspension.

So the car is a 76' 4 speed car original motor is long gone and now has a Mr Goodwrench 260/350 crate motor in it. Has a rebuilt Muncie m 21 in it now along with rebuilt rear. I want to know at what power level is the rear maxed out as is?

I'm going with the crate it has now, aluminum Heads(unsure of which ones yet), and I have a brand new comp thumpr cam, and most likely rpm air gap intake or victor Jr., 750 HP holley, full length headers, full exhaust. I'm stocking up on all parts for it. I have cam kit,1.5 roller rockers and carb so far all brand new. so as soon as I have heads, intake etc it will be put on then. Going to get the block decked,and use the thinnest head gasket i can get. Will run on pump gas, and I'll be shooting for around 375whp/400ft/lbs torque or in that area. Also a small shot of nitrous. Max of a 75 shot. My intended purpose for this car will be drag racing. So with the new power would the halfshafts hold up to around 350-400 HP/ft lbs? The stock driveline? Ujoints?