C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1974 L-82 keeps getting worse

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2015, 04:58 PM
Bassman616
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1974 L-82 keeps getting worse

Hello all,
Im new to the page and im hoping some of you can help. I have a 1974 L-82 and i keep running into more and more problems. The main issue right now, is that my dad and i started it in mid-late spring this year and it was running a bit rough, so we had our mechanic come by, and he determined it was the spark plugs and wires and maybe the coil. Turns out the spark plugs were fried, the wires were burned and and pinched between the headers and the frame. So we got all that changed out, still ran really rough. Our mechanic tried adjusting the idle but didnt do much so he suggested it was bad gas. My dad and i drained out the old gas, and got a couple gallons of premium and a gallon or two of Turbo Blue (108 octane) and now it wont hold an idle at all. The last we heard, the mechanic suspected the carb was off in some way or another, yet he hasnt been able to do any more work on it in about a month or so. If anybody has any ideas of what could be going on, or any suggestions of what to check, it would be greatly appreciated

-Troy
Old 07-07-2015, 06:43 PM
caryb78
Racer

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

Originally Posted by Bassman616
Hello all,