C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Air Cleaner assembly help

Old 09-04-2002, 05:23 PM
Fasteighty
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air Cleaner assembly help

I hope this isn't too dumb of a question, but here it goes:
I have the stock dual snorkel set up on my 80, but I would really like to change it to an open air filter assembly (Chrome). I was looking at all the vac lines coming out of the carb/pvc etc that hook into the dual snorkel and was wondering where the heck are all these lines going to go on an open assembly? If anyone has any words of wisdom on this please feel free to comment, as i'm just starting to learn how to work on my vette.
Thanks!
Old 09-04-2002, 05:39 PM
john's '81 mouse
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Air Cleaner assembly help (Fasteighty)

Your factory dual snorkel assembly will give you more power than that fancy chrome after market open air element. Factory set up pulls in the much cooler air from front of engine and this cooler air will make more power than the hot engine compartment air will.

You can purchase a chrome cover for you factory air cleaner assembly, in fact the '81 vettes came with a chrome air cleaner lid.
Old 09-04-2002, 05:41 PM
Enkil
Instructor

They go to... nowhere. :D